One of the worst things about being a Harvard student is that when non-Harvard people discover this about you, they sometimes feel the need to challenge you to an intellectual duel. A similar thing happens with being a humanities major and non-humanities people. So, as a History of Science major from Harvard, I get this all the time:
“So when WAS the internet invented? Did Al Gore really invent it? I bet you don’t know about ___, ____, and ____!!”

I usually smile and nod and do an okay job giving the Teal Deer, but I mean, guys, the history of the internet is kind of complicated. So I’m really glad this video exists, especially since it’s really pretty. You should watch it so that you know–I plan on pulling it up the next time the glove gets thrown down.

History of the Internet from PICOL on Vimeo.