(Note: Sorry about the blog constipation lately! ROFLCon + Finals + Recovering from finals + Packing != productive writing time. I’m working on a ROFLCon postmortem which will be finished someday…until then, I’ve been posting lots of short, unpolished thoughts and links to cool stuff on my Tumblr.)

I’ve been spending a lot of time trying to smooth out my thoughts about “the gentrification of the web.” A short and simplified summary is: web 1.0 was jankity and was somewhat ruled by jankity people; web 2.0 is smooth and polished, and people using it don’t have to know about the jankitiness underneath. Expect something more detailed…sometime this summer.

I found something that, in my opinion, really resonates with this today. I’ve been trying to use Twitter in the last 24 hours, and as part of my habituation process I’ve been using the “Find & Follow” thing on various email accounts.

* When I did it on my “college” email address, the one that I use to contact everyone I’ve met since coming to Harvard: 62 people used Twitter.

* When I did it on my high school social address, the one I’ve had since I was 13 with all the contact info of my high school friends and my internet friends: 0 people. Zip. Nada. Not a one.

So even though I’ve been active in internet communities since I was like 13, it’s clear that the communities I’ve been in have shifted. The weird thing is, all those people on my old email account? They’re still active online, probably more so than my college friends. In fact, they’re active in the places where a lot of internet culture gets produced. But they’re not on Twitter. And the people who are on Twitter are mostly unaware of their existence.

Weird, huh?